Controlling access to your site

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

You can control overall access to your site in several ways. You may publish your site to open it to participants, open some areas to the general public, or allow any users with valid accounts to join your site.

Managing site access

  1. In your site's menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

  2. Click Manage Access.

  3. Under "Site Status", choose whether your site is visible to participants or not:

    • To open your site to participants, select Publish site. A published site will appear as a tab and/or in the active sites lists of each of your participants.
    • To hide your site from participants, select Leave as draft - accessible only to site maintainers. This can be valuable if you are building a site and don't want participants to see the site and materials before you are ready.

  4. Under "Site Visibility", choose whether your site will be listed in the public site list once it is published:

    • To limit site visibility to only your site participants, select Private.
    • To open your site description and any public announcements or content to anyone with access to your institution's site list, select Display in public site list.

  5. Under "Global Access", choose which users may join the site once it is published:

    • If you want to control who has access to your site, select Limited to whom I add manually, or through automatic roster updates.
    • If you want to open your site to more participants by allowing users to search for and join the site, select Allow anyone to join the site with valid login id.

  6. Once selected, decide what role you want to automatically apply to these participants. Next to "Role for people that join site:", select the appropriate role. For more about roles, see Participant roles.

  7. Click Update.

See also: