Adding, editing, or removing participants

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

As a site owner, you can add participants to your site, delete them, or change their roles and status. However, some actions may be subject to automated roster updates.

You can do this either from Site Info within the site in question, or from Worksite Setup within My Workspace; see Editing your site information if you've removed the Site Info tool.

On this page:


Adding participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

  2. Click Add Participants.

  3. For participants with official usernames, under "Other Official Participants", type each participant's username, one per line.

    For participants without official usernames, under "Non-official Participants", enter their email addresses, one per line.

  4. Under "Participant Roles", choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles; for more about roles, see Participant roles. Click Continue.

  5. Choose the roles for the participant(s) you are adding. If you're assigning different roles to participants, use the drop-down list next to each name to select the appropriate role. If you're assigning the same role to all the participants you're adding, use the radio buttons. Click Continue.

  6. Under "Participant Status", choose whether to let your newly added participants use the site right away by selecting Active, or keep them from accessing the site for now by selecting Inactive. Participant status can be changed later; see Editing participants.

  7. On the next page, choose whether to automatically send email to the new participants to notify them of the site's availability, and then click Continue.

  8. Confirm that the information for the participant(s) you're adding is correct, and then click Finish.

Note: If the email notification to the new participant(s) is not in the correct language, your local administrator has not set the default locale correctly. The language defaults to English if no locale is set.

Back to top

Editing participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

  2. In the Participant List, you can change a participant's role using the drop-down list under "Role".

  3. Under "Status", you can use the drop-down list to change a participant's status; choose Active or Inactive. An inactive student remains a member of the site, but no longer has access. (You can use this to exclude students from a site who would otherwise have access through an associated class list, and therefore cannot be removed.)

  4. Click Update Participants.

Back to top

Removing participants

  1. In your site, from the menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

  2. In the Participant List, under "Remove", check the box next to each participant you'd like to remove.

    Note: Participants added via roster synchronization cannot be removed using this method. Instead, see Adding or removing a class or section.

  3. Click Update Participants.

Back to top